C. D. Book

Archive for 2011|Yearly archive page

Women in Need

In Human Rights, People, Women on June 10, 2011 at 10:34 pm

I have recently viewed the photographs available on the website of Lynsey Addario, photojournalist for the New York Times, National Geographic, Time, etc.

I came away so grateful that I am a women living in the United States. Sure American women have their problems and I don’t mean to diminish the difficulties. The USA is a so-called evolved nation: women work in almost all fields of employment ( but we sill don’t make the bucks the guys do), we are pursuing our dreams; we are strong and independent. Our daughters are taught (or should be ) that they can pursue a career of their choosing.

Globally women are suffering unspeakable horrors and we should try to do something about it! Addario, through her photographs shows us the truth.  The truth is what matters.

Action is needed.

Advertisements

I Loved Anthony Weiner

In People, Politics on June 10, 2011 at 10:06 pm


Follow XtraOpinion on Twitter

Now..not so much.

Yeah, I read the Facebook posts at Radar Online  and viewed the penis photo at Gawker  that Breitbart has on his phone.

And I was shaking my freaking head: I thought Rep. Weiner was fairly intelligent but truth is his obvious smarts are overwhelmed by a need to what? Display his penis, talk dirty on social media and participate in phone sex?

I wanted to believe that Rep. Weiner was telling it straight when he said his Twitter account had been hacked because I loved his passion for progressive politics and his sense of humour.  I still do: can his supporters separate the perv from the effective politician?

Maybe. Only the lies he told are hard to accept. Do the lies take away from his effectiveness as a politician? Are his online adventures best kept in the family: between Weiner and his wife?

I’m torn between losing Rep. Weiner’s voice and his obvious personal problems. Were Wiener a Republican would I be sitting on the fence? Would you?

Whatever: vastly disappointed.

Sarah Palin: “conservative supernova”?

In Fails, People, Politics on June 1, 2011 at 9:44 pm

Yes, Palin is indeed a supernova: one that has exploded and gone on to become a black hole. Evidently conservative blogger Michelle Malkin didn’t do her research when she compared Palin to a supernova:

For more than two years, Palin-bashing journalists (on the establishment left and the right) have mocked the conservative supernova (emphasis added) while milking her for headlines, circulation, viewership and Web traffic.

Michelle, Michelle,  by referring to your conservative icon as a supernova you have inadvertently told the truth that you didn’t want to tell: Palin *is* a black hole. A person who doesn’t deserve the national spotlight due to her dubious morals.  What? Quitting halfway through her governorship in order to rake in the bucks is OK with you? Hmmm.

I have to agree with Malkin on one point though: the freaking media needs to leave the Palin black hole alone! Don’t give into her enticements. Don’t care if she won’t give interviews to anyone but Faux News.

Ignore her, please?

Cadbury Should be Scared!

In Fails, People on May 31, 2011 at 7:37 pm

Oh, oh! Al Sharpton and Jesse Jackson may be contacted by black rights group Operation Black Vote cuz  Cadbury, in their opinion, created a racist ad for their new Bliss bar.  OMG Cadbury start trembling: the race card has been played and you lost!

Naomi Campbell and her mother are offended by the “racist advert”. ‘Course Cadbury’s intention was to refer to Campbell as a diva and we all know she *is* a self-interested diva. Cadbury’s ad is not racist, not insensitive and not meant to insult anyone.

Wow, the race card gets freaking old! Get over it already!

Diva or not?

Naomi Campbell Allegedly Assaults Limo Driver With Cell Phone

Naomi’s a sky-high balaclava bandit

Naomi Campbell says sorry for mobile assault

Naomi Campbell on mobile phone assault rap

Row at Heathrow

Naomi Campbell Explodes After ABC News ‘Blood Diamond’ Questions

Naomi Campbell: Wikipedia

The only mistake Cadbury made was associating their candy with Campbell: an anger management disaster with a horrid sense of entitlement.

Health Care is a No Brainer

In Fails, Health Care on May 14, 2011 at 12:13 am

Follow XtraOpinion on Twitter

I’m totally amazed at the number of Americans who don’t seem to give a damn  about the quality of health care in our country. I’m  left to assume  that many Americans are just plain non-empathetic assholes.  Maybe you’ve never experienced anything in  your life that impacted you negatively or your cadillac plan covers all probabilities.

If so, good for you. The majority of Americans would have a hard time surviving the  events that have occurred in my family. At age 3 my only niece was diagnosed with neuroblastoma cancer.  Neuroblastoma is mostly a pediatric cancer and if not diagnosed extremely early (infancy) a death sentence. My niece was stage 4 when diagnosed and underwent heartbreaking treatment and medical trials. At one time she was considered radioactive. She died at age 7 in 2006. Had it not been for the Ronald McDonald House and the Children’s Cancer Society my brother and his wife would have been left with life-changing medical bills.

And so it was serendipity that allowed my brother and his wife to “survive” the death of their child. It’s  ok, then right?

In February 2010 my brother suffered a massive stroke. He was left  paralyzed on his left side and spends most of his time in a wheelchair. His employer terminated his employment within 2 weeks of his hospitalization.  My brother was left with no health care until his wife was able to add him to her policy . She works part-time and was left with $75 a month after adding my brother to her health care.

 They were told that they didn’t quality for Medicaid because they had 2 cars ( a 1998 Camry and a 2000 Ford Truck, both paid for). My brother eventually qualified for Social Security disability but he can’t be on Medicare until two years have passed since he was deemed disabled.  Say what?

So they scrounge and are lucky that my father can supplement their limited income each month so they won’t lose they home (they have a 14-year-old son).

Less government or screw everyone that can’t afford adequate health care? Should be a no brainer but I’ve found that many of my fellow Americans consider government health care to be socialist or marxist in nature.  Either these people have no worries or  just don’t give a damn. Their minds are small and don’t allow them to think outside the status quo. Shame on them.

Debtor’s Prisons in the USA

In Debt Collection, Fails, People on May 13, 2011 at 10:48 pm

In the 21st century debtor prisons are alive and well in the United States. Yeah, it’s ironic but true. Corporations and big banks can get away without paying taxes but if a  third-party debt collector buys your debt in particular states the average American is screwed!

Happens everyday and the average American agrees to bend over and  be  f***ed.  The average American who receives a summons to appear in court from a third-party debt collector panics , decides not to appear in court and is therefore owned by the debt collector. Third- party debt collection is big business and profits, especially since the Great Recession. I’m surprised at the number of Americans who are willing to acquiesce to these assholes.

According to a Wall Street Journal article dated March 2011:

More than a third of all U.S. states allow borrowers who can’t or won’t pay to be jailed. Judges have signed off on more than 5,000 such warrants since the start of 2010 in nine counties with a total population of 13.6 million people, according to a tally by The Wall Street Journal of filings in those counties. Nationwide figures aren’t known because many courts don’t keep track of warrants by alleged offense. In interviews, 20 judges across the nation said the number of borrowers threatened with arrest in their courtrooms has surged since the financial crisis began

The WSJ article cited above is must reading. Here is another WSJ article worth reading.  Most third -party debt  collection lawsuits brought have no standing. (Please read my three-part series regarding debt collection). Americans are doing themselves a horrendous disservice by not appearing in court to answer these lawsuits that have no standing.  The FTC, the federal government agency charged with implementing the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act issued a report in July 2010 calling the third-party collection process a broken system.

Americans need to stand up and demand answers. If third-party collectors are going to purchase debt for pennies on the dollar then they damn well have the proof you owe the debt before taking you to court.

They don’t have the proof , just intimidation tactics. People, do your research: don’t become a victim.

Cats Stories!

In Cats on May 11, 2011 at 11:41 pm

I love ’em! Anyone who says all cats are alike has never had more than one cat. Our family “owns”  (yeah, right) lots of cats plus we care for a feral colony. I’ll be posting pics and stories about our cats.

This is  Mini, one of four siblings, two boys, two girls. Her mother, Sweetface, brought all four kittens to our home cuz she knew we would feed them.  They came every night. When it became cold in Nov. 2006 Mini jumped into my husband’s lap and he brought her in.

This is Lucky; wish I had a better pic. In 1994 she was found hanging by one leg on a friend’s  farm fence. The leg had to be amputated but Lucky doesn’t know it and gets around on three legs just fine. She is currently 17 and a half years old.

King is Mini’s brother. Both of them are  very fluffy. We call them “fluffikins”.  After Mini demanded to be brought in my husband brought King in the next morning.

This is my sweetheart, Dandy. She’s a tiny cat, grey and white.  Her mother disappeared after we had her fixed. We caught Dandy, who was very young , not with food, but  with a pink neon mouse toy. Like many formally feral cats she has attached herself to one person however she loves cuddling with our other cats.

This is T-Boy and Jesse. T-Boy is the brother to Mini and King. He is the sweetest cat EVER.  He helped Dandy accept humans. Jesse is probably the kitten to Sweetface (before we could catch and have her fixed). She’s a sweetie too but has aligned herself  to one member of our family.

Do you love cats? Then do what you can to ensure  cats have good homes. There is a  difference between stray and feral cats. Stray cats  have had human  contact,  feral cats have had little or no human contact. Feral cats are the result of us humans not spaying  and neutering  our pets. You  can help feral cats by  trapping them, having them fixed, then releasing them to their familiar environment. Please see Ally Cat Allies for more information.

Why Do Women Subjugate Themselves to Religion?

In Fails, People, Religion on May 8, 2011 at 12:16 am

Serious question. Why do Jews, Catholics, Muslim and Mormon women adhere to a religion that considers them less capable than men? There are very few women rabbis, no women priests, Muslim women can’t be an Iman to men and Mormon women can’t head the church. Why?

This question and the reality of the answer is one of the reasons why I stay away from organized religion. The answer is: because men say so. Since when do modern women listen to that misogynist bullshit? It’s as if women have all kinds of self-esteem when it comes to pushing for pay equality, equal rights in employment and the right to choose what happens to their body but, hey, let them attend their place of worship and they’re content to be second-class citizens.

There is no reason whatsoever that women should not be as equal as men in religion. Tell me differently if you like but  please don’t quote scripture. We are all created by God; all of us have individual talents. If a woman is drawn or called to serve as a rabbi, a priest, an Iman or a church leader why is this calling different from a man’s?

Serious question.

Are You A Volunteer?

In Economy, People, Politics on May 7, 2011 at 11:25 pm

Candidate Obama made several pleas for Americans to commit to public service here, here and here. 

The president signed the The Edward M. Kennedy Serve America Act , H.R.1388 on April 21, 2009:

The Edward M. Kennedy Serve America Act (formally the Generations Invigorating Volunteerism and Education (GIVE) Act) authorizes a dramatic funding increase for AmeriCorps and other volunteer programs, and the creation of new programs for seniors and veterans. It establishes a goal of expanding from 75,000 government-supported volunteers to 250,000, and would increase education funding and establish a summer volunteer program for students, paying $500 (which would be applied to college costs) to high-school and middle-school student who participate.

Here is a fact sheet concerning the act from the Corporation for National and Community Service including implementation progress. Here you can view volunteer activity by state (2009 is the latest year that statistics are available).

With all that has happened in the world recently we haven’t paid sufficient attention to the value of volunteerism in our society. A related article suggesting the interesting premise that all of us are an “army of altruists” can and should be read here. Individuals who can’t “afford” to volunteer don’t necessarily not want to volunteer: they are too busy trying to survive on a daily basis.

Imagine if young people were required to participate in a national public service program. In return for their service they would receive funds towards college, or  technical and vocational skills courses. I’ve heard the right-wing nuts say that a public service requirement would be akin to a “Hitler Youth” organization. However I’m not talking ideology but service to mankind and the earth. There should be absolutely zero resistance to a program that exists to help others and those that participate. Empathy would be fostered and those that “graduate” from the program , having experienced the feeling of accomplishment that comes with helping others, may go on to change the current political climate that exists to enrich the ones who are already rich and calls for “shared sacrifice” from everyone else.

What do you think?

Jeff Stuef of Wonkette = A Pig Without Lipstick

In Fails, Media, People on April 21, 2011 at 12:31 pm

Today is the day we come together to celebrate the snowbilly grifter’s magical journey from Texas to Alaska to deliver to the America the great gentleman scholar Trig Palin. Is Palin his true mother? Or was Bristol? (And why is it that nobody questions who the father is? Because, either way, Todd definitely did it.) It doesn’t matter. What matters is that we are privileged to live in a time when we can witness the greatest prop in world political history.

Wonkette “writer”, Jack Stuef  is a pig and vomited the above swill on the occasion of Trig Palin’s third birthday. Remember Trig is the son of Sarah Palin and has Down Syndrome.  And yes Oink Stuef referred to Trig as “retarded”.  Read the entire hogshit  here. Isn’t it  just so hipster hilarious how Swine Stuef insinuates that toddler Trig may be the result of incest?  Yeah, I know a grown Porker shouldn’t be picking on a lil three-year-old boy. But how else to cater to his evidently low-IQ readers? (Read some of the comments especially from the apparently word-challenged poster who refers to anyone that disagrees with Mr. Grunter as a “poopyhead”).  I dislike Palin and her policies as much as the next self-described liberal but making fun of her child and inferring incest is something only bacon-on-the-hoof  like Stuef would condone.

%d bloggers like this: